Augustus Franklin and Sallie Creek Crail pose outside their one room cabin circa 1906. Daughter Lilian sits ahorse, and Sallie's father Abraham Creek shelters in the shade.
Until the Crails erected their larger house, the 255 square foot cabin, built in the late 1890s, served as their home when they came from Bozeman during the summers. The Crails were some of the first "summer folk" in this area.
This year the Conservators are planning to open the historic small cabin for exhibits and displays on the day-to-day workings of a homestead ranch. These displays will be open for viewing during guided tours later this coming summer.
In addition, the first in a series of all-weather interpretive signs will be installed. The displays will enhance self-guided tours and will offer visitors a glimpse of the many buildings once on the Ranch, as well as a view of scenery from 100 years ago.
MORE HISTORY THAN EVER AT THE
CRAIL RANCH HOMESTEAD MUSEUM